Toyota 4Runner Forum - Toyota 4Runner Enthusiasts Forum

Toyota 4Runner Forum - Toyota 4Runner Enthusiasts Forum (https://www.4runnerforum.com/forum/)
-   Appearance (https://www.4runnerforum.com/forum/appearance-9/)
-   -   '02 4Runner rear diff rust out (https://www.4runnerforum.com/forum/appearance-9/02-4runner-rear-diff-rust-out-1948/)

scargo 11-09-2008 09:46 PM

'02 4Runner rear diff rust out

Hi all, it's my first time here, just found this forum and Ihave an '02 4Runner with a rusted out rear differential housing.

I was noticing the smell of gear oil at the rear of the truck and crawled under to take a look. The bottom/rear of the differential housing was wet, and at first I thought maybe the drain plug was loose, although I have never touched it. Upon closer inspection it appeared that the oil was leaking out from the rear of the differential casing, in an area where there are no seals, seams, drains, etc. It was pretty rusty and covered with scale, after I chipped away all the scale with a pick hammer a drip started.

I still find it hard to believe, but the netal had actually rusted through and there are a bunch of small pinholes where the oil is leaking out. The metal is so thin that a few gentle taps with a punch makes a hole. This is my 4th Toyota truck and while I've resigned my self to accepting the inherrent body/bumper rust issues I have never seen any rust through like this before.

So, my question is has anyone else here experienced this? Obviously the warranty has long expired but if anyone else has been here, were you able to get any help/goodwill warranty from Toyota? I'm not looking forawrd to replaving the entire rear axle housing and swapping over all the beakes, suspension, etc.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Mark

jtimports 11-10-2008 06:12 AM

RE: '02 4Runner rear diff rust out