Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

tune up gone bad. WTF? in need of serious help!!!

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2011, 12:44 PM
Default tune up gone bad. WTF? in need of serious help!!!

Hey guys,

I am a new member to the site but i have owned my 4runner for a few years now. I will start off by saying that I have basic knowledge of engine repair and maintenance, I have always done my own work to stretch the Pennie as far as it can go. Things i have done and can do are engine swaps, CV joint changes, U-joint's, oil, trans filters and oil, and so on and so on, so I am not a newbie at these repairs. Okay with that said, here we go.

Truck: 1991 4runner 3vze 3.0L auto trans, 4x4, 5" suspension lift
Yesterday i bought new E3 spark plugs, top of the line plug wires, top shelf cap and rotor for a basic tune up, (air filter and PCV not needed).
the driver side was the easiest for the spark plugs, I uninstalled the stock air intake and TA-DA, easy access. The passenger side was a bit more difficult for me I had to remove the charcoal vacuum canister from the firewall to access the last plug (closest to the firewall). Okay so everything is going smooth...