General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

03 4Runner Lights

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2010, 07:13 PM
Default 03 4Runner Lights

Hi All,

The lights for VSC Trac, Trac Off, Brake & Engine are lit. I turned off the engine and back on. All lights remain lit except for Engine light. After driving a minute or so the engine light is now lit. So i took it to Autozone to run a check but when i get there, the engine light won't lit so they can't get a readout of the error out. VSC Trac, Trac Off and Brake lights are still on. I checked the gas cap and it's tight, any suggestions on what could be causing these lights or how to get the error code read without the engine light lit? Also forgot to mention that ABS light is also lit.
Thanks!

Last edited by hiwasss; 07-20-2010 at 07:58 PM.
Old 07-20-2010, 08:36 PM

I have no experience with 4th gen 4runners but if it's the same as the 3rd gens when you have a check engine light come on, all the lights come on. I'm not sure if it's a, get your attention tactic or scare tactic to make you run to the dealer but it's normal. Just because the CEL is not on when you get to Autozone or wherever to get it read, the code should be stored so it should still come up. I've hooked up code readers to my Dodge and had it give me a code even though I never had a CEL yet.

Old 07-21-2010, 04:27 PM

Took it to repair shop and the code came up as bad vehicle speed sensor. he tested a couple of things but don't think the VSS is bad. I forgot to mention that the odometer is not working.

Old 07-21-2010, 05:39 PM

the repair shop tested the relay and circuit, both came back fine. he said it wasn't getting power to the wheel speed sensor.

Old 07-23-2010, 02:33 PM