A jeep guy new to the 4runner world

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2005, 02:19 PM
Default A jeep guy new to the 4runner world

Hey guys and girls, I've been a devoted jeep driver for as long as I care to remember. I have however spent lot's of time with Toyota drivers on and off road and they are just like us jeep drivers, SEVERELY dedicated to their vehicles.

I have a few quick questions as I am currently selling my YJ and I'm trying to decide whether to go with a 4runner or a grand cherokee. I'm selling the YJ because I've built it as big as it'll be and it's come time for me to not be thinking about mud holes and more about a solid durable reliable truck that also gives some creature comforts. Here's the questions:

-What's the average life of a 4runner? I'm looking at early 90's models, 91, 92, etc, with the 6cyls, most likely automatic since my wife never mastered driving stick. Most of the once's I've been finding are 200,000 KILOMETERS (less than 150000 miles). Is that high mileage for these machines?

-Are there any severe lemon years to avoid? God knows jeep had some lol. Do these have any MAJOR re-ocurring issues? Like for example main bearing problems or trannies blowing up all the time? I'm a wrencher so some maintenance is fine but I'd prefer to not be changing trannies every month.

-Are there any specific spots severely prone to rust? My jeep (and all YJ's) have one or two of these right on the frame, wish I knew to check them before I bought my last jeep, maybe then I would have see the baseball sized hole in the frame!

Any tips to a possible new 4runner owner? Thanks in advanced for -any- info you can give, I'll keep searching the forums to see if I can find more info!

Old 10-03-2005, 01:15 AM
Default RE: A jeep guy new to the 4runner world

Wow, 5 days and not a single response or a "yeah 4runners rock!". Deadest forum ever?

Old 06-25-2006, 01:21 AM
Default RE: A jeep guy new to the 4runner world